Fraud Blocker

How to Migrate to Western Australia – 2023


migrating to western australia

Occupying the entire west coast of Australia, Western Australia is a big state with big ambitions. Rich in natural resources and with endless possibilities for future growth and development, the State Government has recently reopened its skilled migration program for nominations.

Western Autralia State nomination is available for both the subclass 190 and subclass 491 visas. The 190 visa is a permanent skilled visa while the subclass 491 visa is a 5 year provisional skilled visa with a pathway to permanent residency. Both visas require nomination from a state or territory of Australia and applicants are asked to commit two years to remaining in the nominating state.

For more information on these Australian skilled visa options, please see the links below:


Why Migrate to Western Australia

Western Australia is famous for both its natural beauty as well as being the heart of the Australian natural resources industry. The State however has moved on since years yonder and now possesses a well diversified economy with opportunities in almost every industry available in the State.  Live in Western Australia and enjoy:

  • equal opportunity in the workplace,
  • safe working conditions,
  • the world’s highest minimum wage (OECD 2019)
  • a range of entitlements – including public holidays and paid leave
  • the city of Perth, the ‘Fun Capital’ of Australia, its 4th largest city and named the 6th ‘Most Livable City in the World’ according to ‘The Global Livability Index 2021’
  • varying climates and regions, each having their own spectacular scenery
  • enjoy snorkelling in Ningaloo Reef Marine Park & Turquoise Bay, playing with Quokkas on Rottnest Island, surfing the Margaret River Beaches and exploring the countless pristine national parks
  • endless coastline and white sandy beaches
  • laidback lifestyle
  • family friendly – great place to bring up a family


Who is eligible for Western Australian nomination?

While Western Australia largely closed its doors during the Covid-19 pandemic, the State government is now actively seeking migrants to come and fill the many labour gaps holding the State’s economy back. The Western Australian nomination program is broken up into 3 separate categories, these being:

  1. The general stream WA SMOL Schedule 1
  2. The general stream WA SMOL Schedule 2
  3. The graduate stream

General Stream WA SMOL Schedule 1

This stream is for people who have an occupation on the WA skilled migration occupation list schedule 1 for the particular visa they wish to apply for and can meet the additional requirements.

WASMOL Schedule 1
Requirement190 visa491 visa
PointsGraduates applying for subclass 190 visa nomination are required to have a minimum of 65 points or higher on the skilled migration points test inclusive of state nomination points (5 points)Graduates applying for subclass 190 visa nomination are required to have a minimum of 65 points or higher inclusive of state nomination points (15 points)
EmploymentMust have one year of experience either in Australia or overseas in the nominated (or a closely related) occupation after you completed your qualificationSame as for the 190 visa*
EnglishMust have competent EnglishSame as for the 190 visa
LocationCan be onshore or offshoreSame as for the 190 visa
Employment AgreementMust have